a favorite sushi roll, fusion style (daring cooks)

The November 2009 Daring Cooks challenge was brought to you by Audax of Audax Artifex and Rose of The Bite Me Kitchen. They chose sushi as the challenge.

plate of sushi

Once again I am doing my Daring Kitchen post at the last possible second… I was planning to make the sushi last weekend but got busy, blah blah. I’ve made sushi at home before, so I guess I thought it would be no big deal to go to the store at noon-ish and have the sushi made in time to be able to take daytime photos and post by this evening. Long story short, all the sushi got made, but it took over 3 hours and I didn’t even get to photograph the dragon roll. It’s just as well- I was rushing so much that it didn’t look like much of anything worth photographing. It tasted great though- I modified a favorite roll from our usual sushi joint, Noble Fish (a restaurant/Japanese grocery, where I got the supplies for the sushi).

sushi prep

Sushi chefs have been doing California rolls since the ’80s; the chefs at Noble went even further south to Mexico for inspiration.   The Acapulco roll is one we frequently order- an inside-out roll with tuna, avocado, jalapeno, and rolled in cilantro leaves.  Noble Fish uses pickled jalapenos, but I opted for fresh, and added a little cucumber since I had some left over.  I made the first Acapulco roll with the cilantro inside and the avocado on the outside (that was supposed to be my Dragon roll), but wasn’t that thrilled with how it turned out so I made the rest as “normal” sushi rolls.

California roll

In addition to the Acapulco roll, I made a spicy California roll (pictured above- avocado, carrot, cucumber, and shrimp with sriracha mayo) and some salmon and eel nigiri.   I lucked out and found a whole barbecued eel (unagi) in the freezer section- I think they cook it and vacuum-seal it right there at the store.  They even gave me a couple extra packets of eel sauce to go with it.  The eel was a bit pricey but when you compare it to buying nigiri in the restaurant it’s still much cheaper (same for the raw salmon & tuna I bought).  I wish they sold live eels- that would REALLY be a daring challenge to barbecue an eel!  (I actually have had grilled eel before, in Sardinia, and it was delicious, but it was a bit odd watching them writhe around in the bag on the way home from the store!)

unagi

sushi plate vertical 2If I ever get a bug to make sushi again, I’ll be sure to take some nice beautiful shots of my Acapulco roll.  However, I think the verdict may just be that sushi is one of those things best left to the pros.  I saved a little money making it myself, but three hours is a long time for something that gets devoured in a few short minutes!  If you’re thinking about making it yourself, though, I highly recommend the flavor combination of the Acapulco roll.  Cilantro+sushi=yum.

7 responses to “a favorite sushi roll, fusion style (daring cooks)

  1. Whoa! Please don’t suggest roasting our own eels. That would be soooo hard! hee hee!
    Great job with your sushi – I think they look great!

  2. sriracha mayo is awesome! I totally agree that sushi making should be left to the pros. You should have seen how fast my husband gobbled up the finished product without a chance for a photo opt. 🙂

  3. Just love it the photos are so professional and the eel is to die for. And yes I will trythe Acapulco rolls sounds wonderful. Cheers from Audax in Australia. Marvellous looking rolls.

    • Thanks Audax! Your comment made me realize that in my rush to get my post up, I had forgotten to insert the blog checking lines and give you credit for hosting the challenge (just updated it)!

  4. this pictures are amazing, I love the colors and would love to have the plate.
    your sushi looks delicious.

  5. Beautiful presentation and pictures!

  6. Wow, your sushi turned out beautiful, and like you..I’m a nut for the city and country dubbed rolls, especially the Cali roll. Let me tell you, yours looks 10 times better than my lumps of whatever..lol Great job!!

Leave a Reply

