b.l.t. salad with mayo vinaigrette

Man, I feel like Rachel Ray about to post this… ACK!  I promise not to use the words “yummo” or “sammie” though (and please feel free to shoot me if I ever do).

blt-salad-color-adjustjpg

Last night I didn’t get home until 9PM- I had worked late and then gone to get groceries afterwards.  I needed something fast for dinner and somewhat on the lighter side, since I was eating so late.  I had bought some Niman Ranch bacon (pretty much the only bacon I’ll buy anymore after reading this article in Rolling Stone) and a couple bags of greens, and had some little grape tomatoes on hand, so I thought “BLT”- only I didn’t want to eat all that bread.  So I took two pieces of bacon, cut them into small pieces and fried them up while I made a mayo-based vinaigrette dressing.  I then tossed the dressing with some baby spinach and wild arugula, drained the bacon bits on a paper towel and sprinkled those over the top with the tomatoes.  I ate it with a small piece of toast, and it was a perfect meal.  I’m sure this idea of BLT salad has been done before, but I so enjoyed my take on it that I thought I’d share anyway.  The fact that the main ingredient is leafy greens makes it miles healthier than a BLT sandwich, but yet all the classic flavors are still there.  I would actually venture to say that at least to my taste buds, this was much tastier than a BLT sandwich, but then I’m a big salad and greens fan.  You could even cut back on the bacon and use only 1 slice, or three slices between two salads.

For the dressing, I didn’t measure, but I’ll try to approximate for you.  You won’t usually find me putting mayo in my salad dressings- I usually prefer a “clean”-tasting vinaigrette- but I wanted to approximate that classic BLT flavor, and mayo is pretty integral to that.  I made a large-ish individual salad, so adjust amounts if you’re cooking for two, or if you want smaller side salads.  In the bowl in which you’re going to toss your greens, put a blob of mayo  (about 1 tbs) and a much smaller blob of dijon mustard (maybe 1/2 tsp) and whisk together.  Add a small amount of olive oil, about 1/2 to 1 tsp, and stir that in too.  Whisk in some red wine vinegar, about 2 tsp.  Season with a little salt (not too much- don’t forget your bacon will add salt) and freshly ground pepper.  Taste for acidity- I like mine on the acidic side because it cuts through the richness of the bacon, but add a smidge more olive oil (or mayo) if it seems too tart.  Toss in your greens (feel free to substitute other types of greens- the spinach-arugula mixture was pretty darn good though) and top with the bacon and tomato.  This will make enough to dress a good-sized dinner salad for one.  I plated mine for photo purposes; otherwise I would have saved a dish and just eaten it straight out of the bowl!

5 responses to “b.l.t. salad with mayo vinaigrette

  1. Oooh. Yummo. I ate so much bread in Seattle that I am badly in need of a diet of leafy greens. Although a little bacon is acceptable. Always.

  2. Great looking salad! I wouldn’t normally use mayo in dressing either but I bet it really gave you more of a BLT taste. I’m partial to making a warm vinaigrette with the bacon drippings but have to try this instead.

    BTW, J&M Farms is a local pork producer in our neck of the woods.

  3. Noelle, you are SO far removed from being Rachel Ray it isn’t even funny. That woman drives me bat shit insane. You are lovely and amazing – she is the devil!

  4. I also highly recommend Nueske’s Bacon (www.nueskes.com). It is the house bacon at Zingerman’s and I have also had it at Mitchell’s Steakhouse in Columbus as an appetizer. If you make it back to the Lansing area anytime soon, Merindorf’s has a very nice bacon. They are in Mason and Williamston. You can buy slab or thin, medium or thick slices.

Leave a Reply

