some really good eggs

omelet-in-pan-ricotta1
One of my favorite foods for its sheer versatility is the egg.  Whenever the fridge is bare and I’m at a loss for what to cook, I can always count on eggs to be there for me.  Take Monday night, for example- I was staring at a fridge full of not much, wondering what the heck I was going to eat.   I had a bunch of eggs to use up that were left over from my Daring Bakers cake (I couldn’t use them because one of the yolks had broken into the whites) but no veggies or anything to make an omelet.  I remembered when I was a kid, my mom used to make egg drop soup a lot, but I had never tried making it myself.  I thought, how hard could it be; you just simmer a broth and then whisk the eggs in, right?  I didn’t have any stock though so I used miso.  I grated some carrot into the soup, smashed a garlic clove and threw that in there too, and cut up a couple sheets of nori to add something green.   Pretty soon I had a soup that (I’m not gonna lie to you) looked sort of like vomit, but tasted really good.  I used a lot more egg than I think would be typical, which gave the soup this unctuous, velvety texture. I stirred a little hot sauce into my bowl and dug in.  I did not take any photos because it was seriously kind of scary looking but now that I know how tasty and easy it is to throw together, I plan to come up with a proper recipe  that will use less egg and consequently (I hope) look more presentable.

morning-after-omelet

The other egg dish I present to you was much more photogenic!  Last Friday Marvin invited some friends over for dinner and made a delicious veggie “lasagna” that used slices of eggplant in place of noodles.  (It turned out really well, by the way.) The next morning, I made eggs, incorporating a bunch of leftover odds and ends from the previous night’s dinner: fresh locally-made ricotta, some spinach, roasted red peppers, and best of all, these luscious oven-roasted tomatoes he’d picked up as part of an antipasto course.  Imagine tomatoes with super-sweet, eggs-closeconcentrated flavor, marinated in olive oil with herbs… somewhere between sundried and fresh.  I could have eaten them all single-handedly, but restrained myself.  [Update: check out this post for a recipe for roasted tomatoes and a roasted tomato tart.] Anyway they were great in the omelet because I just chucked them in the pan, marinade and all, and used that as my cooking oil.  I made the omelet quasi-fritatta style, where the veggies were cooked in with the eggs and then the whole thing got folded around a filling of ricotta, a little parmesan and some basil.  I make omelets quite frequently and  never bother to write about them, but those marinated tomatoes and the fresh ricotta turned this into something special.  My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

I’m working on some other projects at the moment that are keeping me out of the kitchen, but hopefully I’ll be able to post some new recipes soon.  I’m planning on re-creating the chicken enchiladas from El Azteco, a restaurant in East Lansing where I worked in college.  I went there the other night for dinner and it stoked my craving for their chile verde sauce!

One response to “some really good eggs

  1. very nice!!!!

Leave a Reply

