veggie masala patties with indian goddess dressing

veggie-burger-plated1

Sometimes I have this conversation with myself while pushing my cart down the frozen foods aisle at Trader Joe’s that goes something like this: “I should grab just a couple things for the nights I have rehearsal, or to take in my lunch…”  “But if I buy this stuff, I’ll be less motivated to make food from scratch…”  “But then I might just get lazy anyway and get carry-out, which is worse and more expensive…” I usually end up compromising and buying a couple items but promising myself I’ll only use them for “emergencies”.  As much as I would love to be virtuous and cook fresh food every day, with a full time job as well as band practice and other obligations, it just ain’t gonna happen. However, when I do have to rely on shortcuts such as frozen food, I try to incorporate some other element to snazz it up a bit and make it my own.

masala-burger-box

Case in point: I recently discovered these really yummy vegetable patties from Trader Joe’s called Veggie Masala Burgers. The flavor of the patties is somewhat like vegetable samosa filling. They’re not really quite “veggie burgers” in my book; they don’t have the same texture (potatoes being the main ingredient, they’re too soft and mushy for my taste to eat between a bun). However, I do love to fry them up and then either eat them as an open-faced sandwich on well-toasted wheat bread, or cut them into small pieces and put them in a salad. My favorite veggies to go with this would be shredded carrot, cucumber, and cherry or grape tomatoes.

To drizzle over it all, I make a homemade salad dressing out of yogurt, olive oil, lemon, herbs and spices. This dressing is delicious AND has the added benefit of being healthier than most. I’m calling it Indian Goddess Dressing because the color reminds me of Green Goddess but the flavors are straight from India. I realize I may be leaving some people out in the cold here who don’t have a Trader Joe’s near them (or who aren’t into buying frozen prepared food), but the dressing alone is worth trying, especially to go on a green salad if you’re having other Indian food for supper.

Indian Goddess Dressing

(printer-friendly version)

This dressing takes its inspiration from the wonderful green cilantro chutney served at many Indian restaurants.

indian-goddess-dressing2

1/4 cup plain yogurt
2 tbs olive oil
1 cup loosely packed cilantro leaves (tender stems are ok too if you’re using the food processor)
optional if you have any: 5-10 mint leaves
optional: 1 clove garlic
1/2 tsp curry powder
generous pinch of coarse salt
a few grinds of black pepper
1 tbs lemon juice
a pinch of sugar

If you are using the garlic, smash it with the flat part of a knife and put it in the olive oil for 5-10 minutes to infuse its flavor while you’re getting the cilantro ready. Remove the garlic and discard before proceeding. (I do enjoy garlic, but I feel that leaving it in would overpower the more delicate flavor of the herbs here.)

Place all ingredients in a blender or food processor and process until the herbs are reduced to flecks. Alternately, if you don’t have a processor, whisk together everything but the herbs in a bowl. Mince the herbs as finely as possible and stir them into the dressing. Taste for seasoning and adjust as necessary by adding more salt, sugar or lemon. Makes enough for two large dinner salads.

Simple Indian Dressing (for when you don’t have any fresh herbs in the house): Whisk together yogurt, oil, lemon juice and seasonings. You may want to slightly reduce the quantity of curry powder in this version.

5 responses to “veggie masala patties with indian goddess dressing

  1. I like those patties, too – I serve them crumbled over rice or salad. That dressing looks perfect!

  2. Looks good…and you know, there’s nothing low-brow about wholesome convenience food. It’s nice to bake your own bread, make your own stock from the chicken you roasted, and make your own yogurt…but I notice that the domestic goddesses who do this week in and week out typically don’t have jobs (or don’t have kids). Trader Joe’s is great for stocking your fridge with an emergency arsenal. Thanks for the post.

  3. Amen, Alex!

    I get discouraged sometimes when I look at certain other blogs (notably bread & honey, one of my favorites) and compare them to mine, but then I have to remind myself that many of these folks are SAHMs and have more flexibility. I guess I should just feel good about whatever I can manage and not worry about it. 🙂

  4. hey–
    Just wanted to drop you a line and let you know I think your blog is super wonderful– love the recipes, the graphic design is impeccable, and the writing is lovely. Thanks for sharing. 🙂
    Alli

  5. Love the dressing recipe .. sounds delicious .. Laila

Leave a Reply

