brown rice sushi salad with seared tuna

I’ve been making a version of this deconstructed sushi salad for years.  It’s easy and satisfies my craving for sushi without having to fuss with rolling it up.  It’s also a lot cheaper than an order of carryout sushi!  This time around, I made it with brown rice to go with the “heart-healthy” theme we chose this month on the Michigan Lady Food Bloggers blog (and discovered I liked it better than with white rice).  The salad also contains avocados and yellowfin tuna, all foods that are recognized for their heart-healthy benefits. (I feel a bit sheepish; as I write this, my blog masthead is of a bunch of raw, fatty beef, about the most un-heart-healthy food out there!) I will tempt you (hopefully) with a few photos, but please hop over here to the MLFB blog for the full post with recipe. (And for another hearth-healthy brown rice salad recipe, check out this post.)

sushi-salad-bowl

cooked-tuna-in-pan

rice-close1rice-seasoning-2

5 responses to “brown rice sushi salad with seared tuna

  1. I could make this one at home no problem – WOW looks great and so DAMN easy!!!

  2. your sushi salad looks beautiful and delicious!

  3. Hello-
    I came here from foodgawker and this looked so fabulous that I had to make a variation of it for dinner tonight. Very delicious and easy– what a great idea!

  4. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  5. This is a great take on sushi!

Leave a comment